Unknown images Unknown images handprint circle wpfc94584f_0f

My name is Rachel. I am an Ofsted registered Plymouth childminder, graded OUTSTANDING at my last 2015 Ofsted inspection. My  inspection report is available below:





I am a proud mother of two fantastic children, currently 8 and 11, and enjoy the daily interaction with children of all ages. I provide a safe, warm, friendly home environment that is both fun and mentally stimulating.


Welcome to

Berkeley Childminding

A little

About Me

LogoColorNoText Ofsted Inspection Report

I have been an Ofsted registered childminder since 2010 and am accredited with the Local Authority, receiving regular input from an early years advisory teacher and able to acccept two and three-year-old government funding. My childcare qualifications include :-


*Degree in Early Years (Level 6)  

*Early Years Foundation Degree (Level 5)          

* The Early Years Developing Practice (Level 4)

*Introduction to Childcare Practice                

*Plymouth Safeguarding Board Training

*Paediatric First Aid Certificate                                          

*Certificate in food safety and hygiene

*CRB checked                                                                            *Diploma in Homebased Childcare (Level 3)


In addition I undertake regular training in oder to keep updated with best practice and discover new activity ideas, something also gained from having a good support network of other childminders.

Me with my

baby girl

Our lounge / playroom

Our dining room / playroom!

Our Home

Our Garden

IMG_1506 IMG_1932 garden small lounge Rachel IMG_6771small

Toby the labradoodle


I live with my husband, children and Toby the labradoodle puppy in a leafy area of Plymouth.  We are a non-smoking household with plenty of open space, masses of toys and areas designated to messy play, painting and craft activities. My own children are extremely welcoming and love having others to play.


I particularly value the benefits that children gain from interacting with the outdoor environment and their local community. We are therefore out and about on a daily basis, attending a variety of toddler groups and parks in addition to taking full advantage of the local area from Saltram and Wembury Beach through to Dartmoor Zoo and Plymouth Aquarium. We often meet with other childminders, thereby providing great social opportunities for the children.


I play the flute, piano and guitar and enjoy finding fun ways to introduce children to a variety of music.


I also have an enclosed garden that is used on a daily basis for planting, scooting and general running with trees to provide shade in the summer sun.

thumb_IMG_3235_1024 IMG_6663asmall

Our family

Eating and Messy Play / Craft Area

images Unknown Unknown